RSS Feed

WHY IS MY HEART BEATING OUT OF MY CHEST?

Yikes!

Everyone, one time or another deals with it. The pounding heart, sweaty palms, and nervous ticks.

Anxiety.

As “The Birthday” approaches and I also deal with other HUGE issues in my life-like finding a job and place to live, I have been plagued by sleepless nights, headaches and a rapid beating heart.

After waking up last night around 3 am and thinking I was having a heart attack, I’ve realized I need to talk to someone about this.

For my loyal blog readers, I want to share my experience with you. Almost Thirty will happily discuss both the trivial and serious situations I find myself in during this crazy thing we call life. 

Think you are going through the same thing? You very well could be, but just to make sure I’ve dedicated this post to discussing anxiety and how to deal with it.

Here are a few “Emotional Symptoms” of anxiety:

  • Feelings of apprehension or dread
  • Trouble concentrating
  • Feeling tense and jumpy
  • Anticipating the worst
  • Irritability
  • Restlessness
  • Watching for signs of danger
  • Feeling like your mind’s gone blank

Here are a few “Physical Symptoms” of anxiety:

  • Pounding heart
  • Sweating
  • Stomach upset or dizziness
  • Frequent urination or diarrhea
  • Shortness of breath
  • Tremors and twitches
  • Muscle tension
  • Headaches
  • Fatigue
  • Insomnia

According to a fabulous website I found while doing research, HELPGUIDE.ORG, there are several variants of anxiety.

For instance, I know and believe I am a chronic worrier. However, in that I cannot diagnose myself, I am taking the first step they recommend, scheduling an appointment with a counselor. If you or someone you know is dealing with an anxiety problem, please visit the site to begin research. Then schedule an appointment with a counselor.

While I am by no means there. I have a long way to go in dealing with my anxiety. I know that by taking responsiblity and admitting I have a problem, I’m at least on my way to relief.

~Eli

About Elisa D Wallace

Hello World! I'm a 31-year-old, freelance writer, living in Charlotte, NC. This blog provides insight on what life has like since I am no longer, "Almost Thirty" and now "Anxiously Thirty." Follow me as I attempt, to gracefully navigate through this random thing I call life. Comments are welcome and encouraged!

3 responses »

  1. Elisa,
    Those “heart attacks” that come on are actually classic case anxiety attacks! You may want to go to your doctor and check out some meds to get you over this difficult time in your life. Turning 30 was intimidating, the first time someone asked me my age after I had turned 30 I could not get the words to come out and stood there looking like a retard! You are actually just beginning to go on the most incredible mental,emotional growth period of your life! These are the years when YOU will start to fully be realized. Your 30’s can be the most AWESOME period of your life so far. You may suddenly discover what it is that YOU truly want for your life. Not what society tells you, go to school,get married, have kid’s. There are many different paths to self fulfillment. Only YOU can decide what is your truest path. In the words of Eleanore Roosevelt ” No one can make you feel inferior without your consent” or “I think that somehow we learn who we really are and then live with that decision.” The woman was not without humor as this quote was a hoot! “I once had a rose named after me and I was flattered. But I was not pleased to read the description in the catalog: no good in a bed, but fine up against a wall.” Try to live in the moment. It is all we really truly have. Sometimes when we don’t focus on ourselves, but try and make a difference in other people’s life’s we end up growing the most! So take it easy little grasshopper, find something to enjoy on each blade of grass that furthers you on your journey!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Kat! I really appreciate the supportive comment:) Yes, I have been under a lot of stress and need to take note! I’ll schedule a meeting with my doctor. I promise! Miss you…E

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Running away « Almost Thirty

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

